Sandercock, Obliubek take out top FPA awards


By Jerome Doraisamy

Email Article Print Article

Wetalkmoney owner and adviser Tony Sandercock has been named as the FPA’s Certified Financial Planner (CFP) Professional of the Year for 2016.

Sandercock was honoured with the award at the association’s 2016 Professionals Congress in Perth yesterday in acknowledgement of his commitment to ongoing learning, client service and industry mentoring.

FPA chief executive Dante De Gori said Sandercock stood out as the winner because he was “passionate about motivating clients, helping them set meaningful goals and simplify complex decisions”.
“His client testimonials were outstanding and a testament to his work,” De Gori said.

Bridges Financial Services financial planner Cameron Obliubek was named the winner of the Gwen Fletcher Memorial Award, an honorary prize given to the highest-performing student in the final unit of the CFP Certification Program.

“The CFP certification assessment unit is rigorous, so to receive the Gwen Fletcher Memorial Award is a major achievement,” De Gori said.

“Cameron’s outstanding results are a testament to his commitment and dedication [and] I congratulate him for his efforts and look forward to welcoming him to our growing CFP professional community.”

Other winners included Meridian Wealth Management financial adviser Cody Harmon, who won the Associate Financial Planner of the Year Award, in recognition of his values-based approach and goal setting to help clients realise their dreams through financial advice.

Tupicoffs head of advice Cynthia Sercombe took out the Paraplanner of the Year Award for her technical excellence, dedication to quality and passion for providing pro bono services, while Griffith University student Bradley Aleckson won the University Student of the Year Award, as a result of his academic excellence and commitment to becoming a future role model for financial planners.

« Back to Articles